BUREAU OF AUTOMOTIVE REPAIR

PROPOSED LANGUAGE OF REGULATIONS

Certified Training Institutions and Instructors

Legend: Added text is indicated by underlining.

Deleted text is indicated by strikethrough.

(1) Amend Subsection (c) of Section 3340.28 as follows:

3340.28. Licenses and Qualifications for Smog Check Inspectors and Repair Technicians.
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(c) Smog Check Repair Technician Qualifications. The Smog Check Repair Technician
license requires an examination. The qualifications to take the examination for the Smog
Check Repair Technician license are:

(1) The applicant must provide proof, satisfactory to the bureau, of:

(A) Possession of an Associate of Arts or Associate of Science degree or higher in
Automotive Technology, from a state accredited or recognized college, public school, or trade
school, and one year automotive repair experience in the engine performance area; or

(B) Possession of a certificate in automotive technology, from a state accredited or
recognized college, public school, or trade school with a minimum of 720 hours course work
that includes at least 280 hours course work in the engine performance area, and one year of
automotive repair experience in the engine performance area; or

(C) A minimum of two years of automotive repair experience in the engine performance area,
and successful completion of bureau specified diagnostic and repair training within the last
five years; or

(D) The applicant must provide proof, satisfactory to the bureau, of certification in the
categories of Electrical/Electronic Systems (A6), Engine Performance (A8) and Advanced
Engine Performance Specialist (L1) from the National Institute for Automotive Service
Excellence, or other such established and nationally recognized automotive repair
certification institution as determined by the bureau.

(2) Update Training. The bureau may require update training as part of the requirements for
license renewal. An applicant for renewal of a license must provide proof, satisfactory to the
bureau, of successful completion of a minimum of 16 hours of bureau specified updated
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training. Update training may include emissions related diagnostic and repair training
provided by a vehicle manufacturer. At the bureau’s discretion, a repair technician may take
a challenge test in lieu of taking the update training.
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Note: Authority cited: Sections 44002, 44014, and 44045.5, Health and Safety Code; and
Section 9882, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 44014, 44031.5,
44045.5, Health and Safety Code.

(2) Delete Sections 3340.32 and 3340.33 from Article 5.5 of Chapter 1, of Division 33,
of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as follows:






















(3) Amend Section 3395.4 of Article 12, Chapter 1, Division 33, Title 16, California Code
of Regulations, to read as follows:

§ 3395.4. Disciplinary Guidelines

In reaching a decision on a disciplinary action under the Administrative Procedure Act
(Government Code Section 11400 et seq.), including formal hearings conducted by the Office
of Administrative Hearings, the Bureau of Automotive Repair shall consider the disciplinary
guidelines entitled “Guidelines for Disciplinary Renalties Orders and Terms of Probation”
[Rev. May—1997March 2015] which are hereby incorporated by reference. The “Guidelines
for Disciplinary PenaltiesOrders and Terms of Probation” are advisory. Deviation from these
guidelines and orders, including the standard terms of probation, is appropriate where the
Bureau of Automotive Repair in its sole discretion determines that the facts of the particular

case warrant such deviation.fer-example-the presence-of-mitigating-factors;-the-age-of-the

Note: Authority cited: Section 9882, Business and Professions Code; and Sections
11400.20 and-11400-21, Government Code. Reference: Sections 11400.20,-334060-21 and
11425.50(e), Government Code.

(4) Add Section 3396. To Article 12 of Chapter 1, Division 33, of Title 16, of the
California Code of Regulations, as follows:

8 3396. Compliance with Laws and Requlations.

(a) An automotive repair dealer or brake and lamp licensee who is required as a result of a
disciplinary action to complete training as described in this section, shall obtain this
training from a training provider that meets the requirements of this section.

(b) Training Provider. The training provider shall be a public postsecondary educational
institution, or a private institution that is approved by or has obtained an exemption from
the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (BPPE).

(c) Instructors. The training provider shall utilize instructors who meet at least one of the
following two requirements:

(1) Have at least two years of experience teaching at the postsecondary level; and

(A) Possess a valid license or reqistration in the field of automotive repair; or

(B) Have at least four years of working experience in the field of automotive repair.




(2) Possess a valid professional license or otherwise be qualified, by virtue of prior
training, education and experience, to teach a course in laws and reqgulations or
professionalism.

(d) Training Criteria.

(1) Content. Instruction shall be instructor led and shall include instruction in
compliance with the laws and requlations related to the following content areas:

A. Estimate Requirements

B. Customer Consent

C. Invoice Requirements

D. Accepted Trade Standards
. Sublet Repair

. Return of Parts

. Fraud

. Gross Negligence

False or Misleading Statements and Advertising
Guarantees and Warranties
. Maintenance of Records
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(2) Duration. The training shall consist of a minimum of 8 hours.

(3) Evaluation. An examination is required to verify students can apply the laws and
requlations to scenarios that reflect the day to day transactions in which the content
areas specified in subsection (c)(1) apply.

(e) Proof of Completion. Persons referenced in section 3396(a) who complete training shall
provide the Bureau with proof that they have completed the training.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 9882, 9884.2, 9884.19, 9884.21, and 9889.5, Business and
Professions Code. Reference: Sections 9880.3, 9884.2, 9884.19, 9884.21, and 9889.5,
Business and Professions Code

(5) Add Article 13 to Chapter 1, of Division 33, of Title 16, of the California Code of
Regulations as follows:

Article 13

Certification of Training Institutions and Instructors
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(6) Add Section 3400. to Article 13 of Chapter 1, of Division 33, of Title 16, of the
California Code of Regulations to read as follows:

3400. Definitions.

In this article, unless otherwise noted:

(a)_“Bureau Certified Training Institution,” “Bureau Certified Institution,” “Certified Institution,”
or “Institution” means a training institution certified by the Bureau to provide training and
retraining relating to the licensing requirements of a smog check inspector or repair
technician.

(b) “Bureau Certified Smog Check Instructor,” “Bureau Certified Instructor,” “Certified
Instructor,” or “Instructor” means an individual certified by the Bureau to provide training and
retraining relating to the licensing requirements of a smog check inspector or repair
technician.

Note: Authority cited: Section 44002, 44030.5, and 44045.6, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 44030.5,
44031.5, 44045.5, 44045.6 and 44050 of the Health and Safety Code.

(7)  Add Section 3401. to Article 13 of Chapter 1, of Division 33, of Title 16, of the
California Code of the Regulations as follows:

3401. Bureau Certified Training Institutions

(a) An institution providing prerequisite training under Subdivisions (a) and (b) of Section
44045.6 of the Health and Safety Code to individuals seeking to become licensed smog
check technicians, or providing retraining to licensed smog check technicians cited under the
provisions of Subdivision (c) of Section 44045.6 of the Health and Safety Code, or providing
retraining to licensed smog check technicians cited under the provisions of subdivision (b) of
Section 44050 of the Health and Safety Code, or providing retraining to licensed smog check
technicians under the provisions of subdivision (b) of Section 44031.5 of the Health and
Safety Code must be certified by the Bureau prior to providing that training or retraining.

(b) No institution may provide training or retraining pursuant to this section unless it has met
the requirements of this section and has been issued a certification by the Bureau.

(c) Application. To become a Certified Institution, an institution shall submit to the Bureau a
completed Bureau Certified Training Institution Application, Form TS-1 (Revised September
2015), hereby incorporated by reference. The application shall be subject to the review
criteria specified in Section 3303.2 of Article 1 of this Chapter, as applicable.

(d) Certification Term. The term of certification shall not exceed two years commencing from
the date of issuance. However, the Bureau may advance the initial certification term as
necessary to correspond with a common expiration date for all Certified Institutions.
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(e) Renewal. Institutions shall renew their certification every two years using the Bureau
Certified Training Institution Application, Form TS-1 (Revised September 2015).

(f)_Approval from the Department of Consumer Affairs Bureau for Private Postsecondary
Education. Private institutions shall be approved by or have obtained an exemption from the
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (BPPE). When applicable, BPPE approval shall
remain current at all times.

(q) Certified Instructors. Except as provided in Subsection (1) below, a Certified Institution
shall utilize Bureau Certified Instructors to conduct training or retraining, pursuant to Section
3402 of this Article.

(1) A Certified Institution may temporarily utilize guest trainers representing vehicle
manufacturers or automotive component manufacturers to present training specific to their
respective products and/or technologies. In instances where a guest trainer is utilized, a
Certified Instructor shall be present during the training and the institution shall be responsible
for the training in the same manner as if the training was conducted directly by the Certified
Institution.

(h) Instructional Tools and Training Aids. A Certified Institution shall maintain a lecture area,
presentation media, and shop facilities sufficient to train all participating students.
Presentation media include handouts, writing boards, computers, projectors, internet access,
and any other media necessary to meet student training needs. Furthermore, a Certified
Institution must have available for students a variety of training aids, including demonstration
vehicles, engine and emissions control components, and any other aids necessary to meet
student training needs.

() _Equipment. A Certified Institution shall possess all diagnostic, test, and repair equipment,
and tools and materials needed to train students, including the equipment, tools and
materials required for a STAR Test-and-Repair Station as specified in the Smog Check
Manual referenced in Section 3340.45 of Article 5.5 of this Chapter. All equipment shall be
maintained in good working order and calibrated in accordance with the equipment
manufacturer’s requirements.

() Instruction. Certified Institutions providing training under this section shall administer the
training in accordance with “Bureau of Automotive Repair Training Standards” (Revised
September 2015), hereby incorporated by reference.

(k) Compliance with Americans with Disabilities Act. A Certified Institution shall be compliant
with all applicable provisions of the Americans with Disabilities Act.

(D _Training Records. A Certified Institution shall retain training records, including student
enrollment information, examination results and course completion certificates, for a period of
at least three years from each student’s completion date of the training.

(m) Audit. For the purposes of an audit, Certified Institutions shall allow the Bureau or its
authorized representative reasonable access during normal business hours to monitor or
attend training sessions and inspect training records, equipment, tools, and facilities.

12



(n) Refund Policy. Certified Institutions must have a published policy that shall be provided to
students prior to, or at the time of enrollment, which provides information on:

(1) Refunds in cases of non-attendance and/or cancellation,

(2) Time period for return of fees, and

(3) Notification in cases of course cancellation.

(0) State Examination Results. For each Certified Institution, the Bureau may publically report
cumulative student pass rates for applicable state licensing examinations.

(p) An unexpired certification issued prior to the effective date of this requlation shall remain
in effect through the remainder of its one year term. Upon renewal, the certification shall be
renewed in accordance with the requirements of this section.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 44002, 44030.5, 44031.5, and 44045.6 Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections
44030.5, 44031.5, 44045.6 and 44050, Health and Safety Code.

(8) Add Section 3402. To Article 13 of Chapter 1, Division 33, of Title 16, of the
California Code of Regulations, as follows:

3402. Bureau Certified Smog Check Instructors

(a) An individual must be a Bureau Certified Instructor to provide training or retraining in a
Bureau Certified Institution.

(b) Application. To become a Certified Instructor, an individual shall submit to the Bureau a
completed Bureau Certified Instructor Application, Form TS-2 (Revised September 2015),
hereby incorporated by reference. The application shall be subject to the review criteria
specified in Section 3303.2 of Article 1 of this Chapter, as applicable.

(c) Certification Term. Instructor certification shall not exceed two years from the date of
issuance. However, the Bureau may advance the initial certification term to correspond with a
common expiration date for all Certified Instructors or with the expiration date of the
instructor’s Smog Check Repair Technician license.

(d) Renewal. Instructors shall renew their certification every two years using the Bureau
Certified Instructor Application, Form TS-2 (Revised September 2015).

(e) Certification Requirements. A Certified Instructor shall meet the following requirements:

(1) Be currently licensed by the Bureau as a Smog Check Inspector and Smog Check
Repair Technician pursuant to Section 3340.28 of Article 5.5 of this Chapter.
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(2)  Possess current certification from the National Institute for Automotive Service
Excellence in the certification cateqories of Electrical/Electronic Systems (A6), Engine
Performance (A8), Advanced Engine Performance Specialist (L1), and, if providing diesel
training, Light Vehicle Diesel Engines (A9).

(3) Meet at least one of the following criteria:

(A) Possess a current credential recognized by the California Department of Education; or

(B) Meet the current California Community College eligibility requirements for a credential
or certificate in the field of automotive technology:; or

(C) Possess a bachelor’s degree in vocational education; or

(D) Have a minimum of four years automotive diagnostic and repair experience, and
possess an associate degree or certificate with at least 720 hours of course work in
automotive technology; or

(E) Have a minimum of six years diagnostic and repair experience in the engine
performance area.

(4) Upon initial application, pass a Bureau assessment consisting of a written examination
and an evaluation of the applicant’s instructional presentation abilities. Instructional
presentation abilities will be judged on the applicant’s ability to accurately communicate the
technical aspects of the training materials.

(A) An applicant shall be granted two attempts to pass the assessment. .

(B) An applicant who fails the second assessment may reapply for certification after 180 days
from the date of the second assessment.

(f)_Certified Instructors may use training related to certification with the National Automotive
Technicians Education Foundation, vehicle manufacturer training, or other nationally
recognized organizations as determined by the Bureau, to satisfy the update training
requirements of Section 3340.28 (c) (2) of Article 5.5 of this Chapter, provided that training
relates to smog check repairs.

(9) Instruction. Certified Instructors providing training under this section shall administer
the training in accordance with the Bureau of Automotive Repair Training Standards (Revised
September 2015), incorporated by reference in section 3401(j).

(h) An unexpired certification issued prior to the effective date of this requlation shall
remain in effect through the remainder of its one year term. Upon renewal, the certification
shall be renewed under the provisions of this Section.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 44002, 44030.5, 44031.5 and 44045.6, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections
44030.5, 44031.5, 44045.6 and 44050, Health and Safety Code.
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(9) Move Section 3340.32.1 of Article 5.5 of Chapter 1, of Division 33, of Title 16, of
the California Code of Regulations to Article 13 of Chapter 1, of Division 33, of
Title 16, of the California Code of Regulations, renumber to Section 3403, and
amend as follows:

334032 1-Standardsforthe 3403. Denial, Decertification and Recertification of Bureau

Training Institutions Providing Retraining to Licensed Technicians or Prerequisite Training to
Fhose-Seeking-to-Become Licensed-Technicians.

(a) An application for certification may be denied or an institution may be decertified for any of
the following reasons:

(1) Failure to comply with the provisions of Section 33406-32 3401 of this article; as applicable;
or

(2) Misrepresentation of a material fact in obtaining or attempting to obtain certification as an
institution; or

(3) Suspension or revocation of any bureau-issued license, registration, or qualification
certificate held by the institution or by any owner, partner, officer, director, or manager of the
institution, if the grounds for suspension or revocation are substantially related to the
gualifications of the institution to provide bureau-prescribed training eeurses-ofinstruction; or

(4) Conviction of a crime or conduct which would be cause for denial of a license pursuant to
Section 480 of the Business and Professions Code, or for suspension or revocation of a
license pursuant to Section 490 of the Business and Professions Code.

(b) A decertified Institutiontastitutions may be recertified as follows:

(1) Upon completion of an application for recertification; and

(2) After an audit en-site-inspeetion of the institution has been aceemplished conducted by
the bureau and a determination made by the bureau that the institution is again qualified to

instruct students. In considering whether to make such determination, the bureau will
evaluate the rehabilitation of the applicant based upon the criteria set forth in Section 3395 of
this Chapter.

(c) Any denial or decertification proceeding under this section shall be conducted in
accordance with Chapter 5 (commencing with Section 11500) of Division 3, Title 2 of the
Government Code.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 44002, 44030.5, and 44045.6, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 44030.5,
44045.6 and 44050, Health and Safety Code; Sections 480 and 490, Business and Professions Code; and Section 11500,
et.seq., Government Code.
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(10) Move Section 3340.33.1 of Article 5.5 of Chapter 1, of Division 33, of Title 16, of
the California Code of Regulations to Article 13 of Chapter 1, of Division 33, of
Title 16, of the California Code of Regulations, and renumber to Section 3404,
and amend as follows:

3340.33-1-Standardsforthe 3404. Denial, Decertification and Recertification of Smog

Check Instructors Providing-Retraining-to-Licensed-Technicians-or-Prerequisite Trainingto
Those Seeking to Become Licensed Technicians.

(a) An application for certification may be denied or an instructor may be decertified for any of
the following reasons:

(1) Failure to comply with the provisions of Section 3348-33 3402 of this article; or

(2) Misrepresentation of a material fact in obtaining certification as an instructor; or

(3) Failure to instruct students in a competent manner in accordance with the speetications-of
the-bureau-preseribed-course Bureau of Automotive Repair Training Standards (Revised

September 2015), incorporated by reference in section 3401(j); or

(4) Suspension or revocation of any bureau-issued license, registration, or qualification
certificate held by the instructor if the grounds for suspension or revocation are substantially
related to the qualifications of the instructor to teach bureau-prescribed courses of instruction;
or

(5) Conviction of a crime or conduct which would be cause for denial of a license pursuant to
Section 480 of the Business and Professions Code, or for suspension or revocation of a
license pursuant to Section 490 of the Business and Professions Code.

(b) A decertified instructor tastrueters may be recertified as follows:

(1) Upon completion of an application for recertification; and

(2) Upon determination by the bureau that the instructor is again qualified to instruct students.
In considering whether to make such determination, the bureau will evaluate the rehabilitation
of the applicant based upon the criteria set forth in Section 3395 of this Chapter.

(c) Any denial or decertification proceeding under this section shall be conducted in
accordance with Chapter 5 (commencing with Section 11500) of Division 3, Title 2 of the
Government Code.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 44002, 44030.5, and 44045.6, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 44030.5,
44045.6 and 44050, Health and Safety Code; Sections 480 and 490, Business and Professions Code; and Section 11500,
et. seq., Government Code.
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